Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kidogo_gw

Jacaranda amongst mesquite?

kidogo
19 years ago

Hello all!

I tried posting this to the Arizona group, but there wasnÂt much of a response. On seeing this list, and I thinking it more appropriate for here.

Essentially I am a newbie to the desert, and I am trying to figure out plants and watering. We were fortunately enough to have found a wonderful home in Gold Canyon Arizona (near Phoenix), composed mainly of wild desert (complete with Coyote den :) ) The house is fixer-upper and the yard was much neglected (ailing couple). Additionally many large beautiful trees are planted a mere foot from the house, or feet from each other (grr), or did not survive not being watered. Fortunately, survival of the fittest has taken place, and I know what will live out here without water!

We have finally gotten around to laying irrigation line, thus I am starting to think about what to put in. My goal is to, at minimum, have a low maintenance yard, with some fruit trees (there are already some here that managed to survived) and a vegetable garden.