Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
abqpalms

'Palm' Yuccas

abqpalms
18 years ago

Wondering if any good-hearted souls could give some input -

While Albuquerque has many very common varieties of yuccas obviously growing around, the one common kind I personally enjoy quite a bit are the "Palm" Yuccas - the often-large trees with the "shaggy" trunks and the stiff, green (leaves? - not sure what you refer to them on yuccas as) that have the appearance of a palm/yucca cross.

At any event, one can tell I am a real novice - I only moved to ABQ a couple of years ago.

A) I see them marked as "Palm" Yuccas at local nurseries such as Rowlands (may they rest in peace) and Osuna Nursery...however, I am not sure what their real/scientific name is. Can anyone enlighten (and pardon me for my ignorance)?

More importantly...

B) The price tag on these guys - they are SO expensive when I find them in nurseries - even rather young/small ones still run $150+, and big ones up to $400! Again, with excuse to my ignorance, that somewhat surprises me due to their very "common" nature all across the city. I really would like to get one of these for my house along with my actual palm trees, and am willing to get a younger one and have it grow, but stomaching such a steep price is somewhat tough for me to do! I was wondering really if anyone had any experiences / suggestions / ideas of where perhaps I could go to find / purchase one of these on a bit more of an economical basis (or am I just SOL here).

[Also, realizing my novice status, any ideas of why they are so expensive despite their very common status of finding anywhere and everywhere around town? Or are they "just that way" due to their bigger-than-most-yucca size?]....

Thanks in advance!

Comments (9)

• adp_abq
    18 years ago

yucca faxonia?

• cactus_dude
    18 years ago