Return to the Southwestern Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
xeriscape in high-desert

Posted by kfeer zone 5-ish (My Page) on
Mon, Oct 1, 12 at 15:32

We would like to get rid of our current lawn - that requires watering in warmer weather - with something low-maintenance and hardy. Unlike most of these posts, we don't have the southwestern climate - we are high desert - arid, not too hot in the summer, but big temperature differences day to night (20-40 degree swing) and lots of wintery snowy days. We're at a high elevation so lots of sun. Due to fire hazards, we can't let the native bunch grass, rabbit brush, etc take over. We like the grass as a fire break, but hate watering (ok, hubby hates mowing too!!) Looking for ideas for either low maint ground cover plants or xeriscaping or combination. I'm a novice when it comes to plants, and don't have a lot of time or money to spend. Any help would be appreciated!!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: xeriscape in high-desert

• Posted by eureka z8 SS11 CAHiDesert (My Page) on
    Tue, Oct 9, 12 at 0:40

If you go to the site of High Country Gardens who are located in Santa Fe, they have several excellent lawns that are slow growing and rarely need mowing and very little water. They would likely be your best guide.

o

have you considered just dirt? you could cover the dirt with either old carpet turned upside down, several layers of newspaper or cardboard.... then to make it look presentable cover it with something like black steer manure or wood chips? Doing it this way, you wouldnt have to tear out your lawn which would save a lot of work.... just cover it up!

o

• Posted by eureka z8 SS11 CAHiDesert (My Page) on
    Thu, Oct 18, 12 at 1:00