Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
expat_gw

Can citrus be espaliered?

Expat
21 years ago

I want to grow blood oranges and pomelas on the wall of my house. Can it be done and how? I am in Sunset zone 13.

Comments (6)

• Field
    21 years ago

I, too, have been waiting for someone with local experience to answer your question. But it's been futile, hasn't it?

I have no experience like this because we can't grow citrus trees here, but I have seen them espaliered in Italy, so I'm certain it can and is being done. Go for it.

• sheepdip
    21 years ago

I found a very informative website for espaliering (see below). It indicates that citrus is a good choice for this and I hope it is helpful to you. It's too cold here to grow citrus outdoors, but I'm having good success with a lemon tree in a pot on my sun porch. Have actually harvested two crops (3 lemons one year and 5 this year!) but I would so much love to have a grove of *real* trees in my yard. Maybe I should consider citrus bonsai, ha ha.

Here is a link that might be useful: Univ. of Florida, Espaliers

• eveheart
    21 years ago

I know this thread is a little older, but I thought I'd answer: Yes, citrus can be espaliered. It doesn't have the same bud-growth pattern as the "typical" espaliered fruit tree, but if you keep snipping out what you don't want, you can get a nice shape. Also, keep in mind that citrus trees love to be leafy, so don't try for a totally flat-against-the-wall stark look. Good luck and have fun! Eve

• mesquite
    21 years ago