Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
abqpalms

Any El Paso or Tucson-area Residents??

abqpalms
18 years ago

Hi Folks -

Being an Albuquerque-area resident, I have been engaged in the past few months here with others, debating the merits of pushing plants (namely cold-hearty palm trees) in the zone 7b climate of Albuquerque. Viewpoints seemed to be across the board.

However, I certainly have evidenced the wonderful palms you are able to grow in the warmer climates of El Paso and Tucson.

This question is more just because I am personally interested, and have not been able to visit myself in the last few months to either EP or Tucson.

The recent cold stretch through the Southwest at the beginning and middle of December -

I realize EP and certainly Tucson as a general rule didn't get as cold at night as Albuquerque did. However, I did see many nights where in El Paso it got nearly as cold as Albuquerque - into the low 20s and even the teens - and even Tucson, while not nearly as frigid, got below freezing a number of nights.

Just very curious / interested to hear if that cold stretch was tough on your palm trees? Or if they passed through just fine? Also, Tucson residents, how did area saguaros come through the cold stretch?

Really just interested, more than anything. Would be very interested to hear any insights/stories!

We got even colder some nights here at 5,000+ feet, however, we don't have nearly the cold-sensitive palms/cacti to protect that you folks do.

At any event, at least now it looks like we are in a definite warmer stretch region-wide, and things will be quite mild for some time, thankfully!

Comments (26)

• Joelfriday
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago