Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ewa_gw

floral design - course or apprenticeship?

EWA
23 years ago

I am considering a career change to floral design. As a long term goal, I would like to own a floral design business for special events (out of my home). Since I have no background in floral design/arranging (other than my gardening and floral hobbies), I am unsure of appropriate first steps. I am currently brainstorming ideas - apply to local continuing education courses/certificates (higher $ investment) or seeking a mentor at local florists and working part-time as an apprentice. Any suggestions, feedback is appreciated.

Comments (12)

• mjpm52_hotmail_com
    22 years ago

I can't help you but I'm thinking about a career change into floral design also. So, when you figure it out ... can you e-mail it to me at: mjpm52@hotmail.com. Thanks!

• pinkdolpin38_yahoo_com_sg
    22 years ago

Hi there,

Me too. Thinking of a career change into floral design. Let's keep one another posted if we manage to find out more information.

cheers!

• aef5y_virginia_edu
    22 years ago

I would love to learn the art of Floral Design. I am working in Boston this summer and plan to move to the area after I finish school. Unfortunately, the Ritter School of Floral Design does not offer evening classes this summer. Does anybody know of other classes in the area which might be in the evening? Alternatively, does anyone know of a floral shop owner who might want an apprentice for some weekends this summer?

• Marianne57
    22 years ago