Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flamingogal

Plant that begins with 'u'

flamingogal
21 years ago

I am a preschool teacher in an elementary school in KS. We are creating an ABC garden and are looking for a plant that begins with the letter "u". We can always be creative and find some kind of "ugly" plant, but would prefer to have a plant that actually begins with "u". Last year we just put an umbrella plant out in a pot, but would like something different this year. Any ideas??

Comments (10)

• albert_135   39.17°N 119.76°W 4695ft.
    21 years ago

Elm trees are of the genus Ulmus. I don't know anything about kids, this may be a stretch.

• katybird_PA
    21 years ago

Uvularia. I believe the common name is merry bells.
    It scares me that this immediately came to mind when I saw the subject of your post. Too much time reading my garden books!

• ankraras
    21 years ago

Hi;-
    I do not recall that many plants beginning with the letter *U* but here are a few;-

Ugni [Chilean Guava] ;- A beautiful evergreen shrub .
    Ulex [Gorse] ;- An unusual, almost leafless, fragrant flowers shrub.
    Umbellularia [Headache tree] ;- It is said that the aromatic leaves are used as an insect repellent.
    Urceolina ;- Not sure of the common name. A genus of spring flowering bulbs.
    Urginea [Hook sedge] ;- Another flowering bulb that flowers in late summer.
    Ursinia [Star of the veld] ;- A genus of perennials and annuals, some for foliage others for flowers.
    Utricularia [Bladderwort] ;- Carnivorous water plants.
    Uebelmannia [Cacti] ;- I think this unique genus is from Basil.
    Uncarina [Succulent] ;- Trees and shrubs with beautiful flowers and fuzzy leaves.

Supannee
    Ankrara's Hobby Corner

• sinsleystuff
    21 years ago

Thanks for the post, I am kindergarten teacher and we just completed our ABC garden and I could not find a "U" plant for our zone.

• Roadworrier
    21 years ago