Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kristie_gw

music and the effects on plants.

kristie
22 years ago

hi, im a student at newman senior high school and my science class is doing a project to do with plants. I have chosen to do plants and music. I would like to know if i could get any information fromm anyone on how to set up an experiment like this one and what was their results. Thanks please i need help

Comments (21)

• colorado_kid
    22 years ago

Hi Kristie. Acutally I inadvertantly ran such an experiment with my African Violets once. I had them under a grow light next to the stereo. We listen to a lot of mellow music. My wife listens to a lot of Yanni and Enya music during the day. The violets were blooming beautifully and doing very well. I thought I had the lighting and fertilization down just right. Then one day we moved some things around and actually moved the stereo to another area of the house where it didn't have the same direct association with the african violets. Within two weeks I started to notice that something was going on. I had not changed the lighting, food or watering. It stumped me for a long time. Then we decided to move the stereo back to its old location since it was not heard as easily where it was. Within two weeks I could see a difference in the violets. They were setting on more buds again and just plain looked better. It may have been a fluke. But it happened.

Colo. Kid

• danceQT53_aol_com
    22 years ago

I am doing a science fair project and this is my topic. If anyone can help me it would be much appreciated.

• a_richard_d_enfused_com
    22 years ago

One generations "music" is the previous generations "noise"!
    Therefore the answer should be a matter of volume. Louder music/noise the should make plants shorter and stronger.

Here is a link that might be useful: THIGMOMORPHOGENESIS

• Gale
    22 years ago