Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lalalaughing

Thinking of starting 2 terrariums...

LaLaLaughing
10 years ago

Hey all,
I'm a TOTAL beginner when it comes to gardening, and I've got 2 small aquariums lying around, which I was thinking of maybe turning into terrariums... I haven't positively settled on the idea yet, but I figure if I start asking question, I can start doing some research to see if the idea is actually a good idea :)

I'm sort of thinking having one as a plant only terrarium, and maybe letting the other one have plants and some pillbugs (a.k.a "rolly-pollys"... they aren't technically bugs, but tiny land crustaceans) as pets in it... what do you think? (The research I've done says that they only eat rotting plant matter, so I don't think they'd be much trouble to the plants.)
And if pillbugs aren't a good idea to have with plants, I'll either have plants, or turn the smaller tank into a home for the pillbugs.

Also as far as plants go, I only want plants that are beginner friendly (for obvious reasons, haha) and that don't really need fertilizer or anything like that. -The simpler the setup, the better! :)
I don't mind watering the plants everyday, so they don't have to be succulents if that makes things easier.
Oh, and I don't know if this helps at all, but the usual temperature range for my bedroom year-round is 11-35C more or less.

Anyway, the tanks are slightly different sizes, but here are their dimensions:

Smaller tank:
L: 36cm
W: 23cm
H: 24cm

Larger tank:
L: 40m
W: 25cm
H: 26cm

The smaller one has a light, but I don't think it's UV. Neither of the tanks would be next to windows, so I'd need a suitable lighting setup.

So my questions are:

1. What plants would be suitable in these tanks? -I don't want to have to replant anything, because it outgrows the tank.

2. Are there any carnivorous plants that would suit? (Obviously this wouldn't be in with the pillbugs!)