Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joshua1229

Ventilation Systems

joshua1229
19 years ago

I am really new to this, just at the stage where I am reading up on everything. I am planning on a vivarium, want to have land and a pond, plants, and a few species, prob anole and a newt or some frogs, lots of insects. I can't seem to figure out the ventilation though. I don't think there will be enough oxygen for all the animals, for it to be a closed system, but how do you have it open 1) to control temp and humidity, and 2) prevent odors / insects from getting into the outside room. Do they sell ventilation systems with a HEPA filter on it?

Comment (1)

• Cdfortin
    19 years ago

First of all, what do you mean by "closed system?" Some individuals are interested in biospheres that have absolutly no holes or vents and are completely self-sustaining (for a while).
    I am assuming that you are talking about a typical terrerium. If so, there is absolutly no way that there would not be enough oxygen unless every single nook, cranny, and hole were closed. Remember, reptiles, amphibians, and especially insects have completely different circulatory systems than humans and have low oxygen requirments to begin with.
    In regards to ventilation, what size is the terrerium? Most likely, you don't need any sort of fan driven setup. If you are using a glass aquarium, which is probably the best choice for a beginner, the best way to control temps/humidity is to experiment with the top. Use glass and screen to completly cover the top. As for the ratio of screen to glass, experiment with it to find the best temp/humidity balance. You should probably place your light over the glass section of the top.
    Regarding insects escaping, that shouldn't be a problem as long as you use a fiberglass screen (from somewhere like Home Depot).