Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sunnyvalley

Charcoal layer in terrarium

sunnyvalley
10 years ago

I'm about to put together a terrarium with activated charcoal, which I've never used in one before. All the instructions I've seen say to put moss (or something) between your charcoal and soil layers to keep them from mixing - I'm wondering, is strict layering purely aesthetic? Specifically, is there any reason I shouldn't deliberately mix the charcoal right into my soil, or is there a functional reason why it needs to be its own distinct layer? Thanks!

Comments (7)

• September_Jenkins
    10 years ago

I read the same thing but the moss between the layers quickly seemed to develop mold (or some equivalent). Overwatering it I can open and dry out some... but layers beneath, how do you get rid of that infection? Is the moss a must:?

• devolet
    10 years ago

I used to make terrariums at a florist and used to put a layer of pea gravel between the charcoal and soil. I didn't use moss because of water retention and mold. You can use sand as a separation layer too for a variation in design.

• paul_
    10 years ago

Charcoal layer is unnecessary and useless in any real sense. A drainage layer is not generally necessary either unless you are including a water feature in the terr. Just make sure whatever media you go with is rather light and "airy".

• devolet
    10 years ago