Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ginar1173

10 gallon orchidarium

GinaR1173
19 years ago

OK, I'm new to this particular forum, and I must say that it is very exciting and inspiring. I have a 10 gallon aquarium tank that has been dormant for the past 4 years. I was bit by the orchid bug last year so now I'm thinking to make an orchidaium using mini orchids. Now, I'm lost on how to start!

What should I use for substrate? I'm thinking of using standard orchid mix(Schultz), or tree fern bark, or a mixture.

Also will the standard light that came with the tank be sufficient lighting?

Should I put a humidity tray in there or will the humidity just naturally build up from the enclosure and misting?

I want to get all the information I can before the NY Orchid show, so that everything can be set up for the 'chids.

Any help will be greatly appreciated! Thanx!

Comments (3)

• sahoyaref
    19 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago