Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rainbowoman

Open Container Terrariums?

RainboWoman
19 years ago

Hi,

I've got a terrarium that is completely open at the top...it looks kinda 70's-ish and has a mirror in the back of it etc... I've been searching the forum to see if there is such a thing as an open container terrarium...because as I see it, the only way for me to close this thing would be with plastic wrap. Any-who...can I make an open container terrarium...i've only seen info on closed? If so, what plants would I use...keeping in mind i'm not wild about the desert ones...

Hope this isn't 2 silly of a question...i'm new to everything that is plant related.

Love and Light

RainboWoman

Comments (8)

• mrbreeze
    19 years ago

If it was me I might try to get a piece of plexi cut to fit the shape to use for a lid. Or...just get some lights and use them for a partial cover.

An open tank should still provide extra humidity...just not as much as if it was closed. This will limit you somewhat on the plants you can grow but likely not drastically. Actually the light situation is prob. a little more significant then the potential loss of moisture out the top.

• RainboWoman
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Hi MrBreeze,

The only problem with the lid is, the back of the terrarium is a great dea taller than the front (reaches up a good 10 inches higher...and it's scallopped all around it.) I'd take a picture...but our digital camera just broke.

Could you explain what you mean about light situation... My house is low light...plus I have cats that can't help but help themselves to my plants (thats why I thought Terrariums would be good for us...protect the plants from the cats somewhat). Should I get a light for the Terrarium?

THanks...OH and do you know what plants would grow best?

Love and Light
    RainboWOman

• moorear
    19 years ago