Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elizabeth_24

African Violets in Terrarium?

elizabeth_24
19 years ago

Hi all,

I'm new to the world of terrariums and was wondering if anyone here has planted african violets in their terrarium? I have an empty 10 gallon aquarium that I was considering coverting into a terrarium. My plan is to use a mixture of potting soil, vermiculite and perlite for the substrate and then cover that with dried spanish moss. If it'll work, I'd like to plant some mini african violets (those I'll keep in their individual pots and just "bury" in the dirt and moss) and some other small plants, such as the pink spotted ivy plants which I will actually plant in the substrate. I'm also considering a small pond to help with humidity. What do you think of the av's in the terrarium? Would they survive?

As well, I don't have a lid for the aquarium, what would you recommend using as a lid and what would you recommend for lighting? I'm considering just buying one of those screen lids for the aquarium (like you would use if you had reptiles living in it) but need some thoughts or ideas on how to attach lighting to it. And if it's just a screen lid, would there still be enough humidity?

Thanks in advance for your advice!

Comments (35)

• sahoyaref
    19 years ago