Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
webgeek_gw

First Vivarium - Need Advice

webgeek
18 years ago

Hello all! I've made a terrible mistake and need help. After quite a bit of research into poison dart frogs, I went ahead and purchased four auratus frogs from Saurian.net. I've started raising them as per the directions on their website. This consists of keeping them in pairs in small plastic boxes until they grow up a bit.

Now the good and bad news... They are doing very well and I want to move them to their permament home. I figured I'd have no trouble making a nice terrarium for them quickly. This has NOT been the case. I've no experience with terrariums but lots of experience with aquariums. Sadly, none of that knowledge is really helping me. I have a beautiful 50 gallon all-glass breeder tank with a glass top ready to go but now I'm stuck. I've run into some questions that I just can't seem to answer without asking...

1) My apartment is very cold. Always. Too cold for the frogs and plants to be really happy. Additionally, I wanted to use a false bottom and heat the water to raise the temperature of the tank. Is this really feasible?

2) To keep the smell down, I wanted to filter the water to some extent. How do people filter false bottom tanks? I can't seem to figure out a good method that doesnt put an ugly filter right into the tank!

3) How is the planting material held above the water? One thought I had was the weed blocking sheets. That seemed like it would work. I would just attach the sheet to egg crate I had suspended above the water and the planting material would rest on that. Excess water would be able to drip through into the resevoir below. Is this what people do?