Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
miniplants

Terrarium in a large lab flask -- a saga

I'm greatly enjoying this site and its friendly group of knowledgeable enthusiasts and enthusiastic novices. I'd like to share my first terrarium experience with you and get your input.
I was a total novice but I got hooked when I came by a 5 L cell culture flask, a 9-10" diameter flat-bottom globe with a short, narrow neck (~ 2" inner diameter), that I thought would make a great terrarium. So, armed with lay-press opinions from Googling I went with the multiple layers modality: a layer of mini-tiles that had been knocking around the basement since before the Flood, activated charcoal (I contained it in 2 well-washed Blanton�s bourbon bags), an inch of sphagnum, an inch of soil mixed with activated charcoal, followed by ~2" of commercial potting soil. This filled more than half the globe! (Duh.) Also, I hadn't realized that with this much substrate I would want the surface to be sculpted in an interesting way. Nonetheless, undeterred, I planted this setup with backyard pleurocarp-type moss (yet to be keyed out; resembles Hypnum cupressiforme), two small acrocarp cushions obtained at a local nursery, three micro-mini Sinningia muscicola "Rio das Piedras" (from blackjungleterrariumsupply.com), a mini-Sinningia (HCYs Taurus from violetbarn.com), the dwarf form of Lemmaphyllum microphyllum (from rareferns.com), and the dwarf Begonia dregei (from the local university hort club sale). Also included were a couple of "logs" of cork bark and a few stones. I had not decided on how to maintain moisture in this thing and was keeping it on the wet side. (The cushion mosses never thrived, eventually died, and were removed. I sort of knew this was a bad choice but tried it anyway b/c it added such a cool texture to the scene. My bad.) I should note that this terr is in a window which faces northwest and gets only indirect light. So there was no issue with heat buildup (and the plants were chosen w