Return to the Terrariums Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need help/advice on new terrarium

Posted by The_Noob_22 z5 WI (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 28, 05 at 3:08

OK, i'm completely new to this terrarium thing. I have a 10 gallon hexagon aquarium that I wasnt using and used it for a terrarium. The hood has a hole in the back (a slot for the would-be water filter), a glass window for the hood light, and a tight fir on the aquarium.
I started my terrarium by putting down a half inch of sand, a thin layer of charcoal from the garden store, a thin layer of sphagnum moss from the garden store, and potting soil mixed with vermiculite. I have four small plants in there, the names of which i will post tomorrow but they all require medium light and high humidity. I also have two rocks I got from the yard, which i wahsed with scalding hot water. I have three questions:

1) Is this a smart set-up to have or completely wrong?

2) Can i use the flourescent light that came with the hood of the tank or should I get a sun lamp?

3) Should I regularily mist the terrarium or every other day/week/month?

Any suggestions on these matters would be most appreciated. Thanks a bunch!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need help/advice on new terrarium

When you say charcoal, you mean activated charcoal right? Normal charcoal is no good whatsoever.

Regarding lighting you're probably best off with 1-2 cfls, you don't want incandescents(excessive heat, little usable light).

Misting the terrarium, well, I'd do it as seems necessary for the plants, you can only judge it by experimenting.

Otherwise sounds good.

RP1

o