Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
woollady

questions about small terrarium...

woollady
19 years ago

hi everyone,this is my first time here.i have an emerald jewel begonia that was in a very small terrarium.it outrgrew it.in searching for another,i found something i thought would work,but after taking it home i realized the top has decorative scrollwork on it.will that cut the light down considerably?i know that direct sun is bad,but can it take filtered lite from mini blinds?i am going to keep it in its pot.thanks for any help you can give me.

Comments (11)

• sahoyaref
    19 years ago

Your begonia may not need a terrarium at all. Most people grow begonias with other normal houseplants, though I don't know how dry or humid it is in your part of California. Do you know your average humidity? What direction does the window face that you have these mini-blinds on and where you want to put your plant? The mini blinds don't matter as much as how much sun the window receives. Also, what is the decorative scrollwork like? is it etched on the glass? Is it faux stained-glass leading?

• woollady
    Original Author
    19 years ago

hi,thanks for anwering my post.the plant is sharing a table top with afr.violets and phal orchids in an east facing window which gets sun from about 7am to 10am.the average humidity is about 40-55%.the scrollwork is on the removable lid.i think this plant likes a terrarium because whenever i have taken it out it starts to get brown leaf tips and starts looking sad.by the way,right now the terrarium is registering 94%,is that too much?thanks again.

• sahoyaref
    19 years ago