Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thoughtintheact

The Fungus Among Us - Please help!

thoughtintheact
17 years ago

I've been playing with terrariums for a couple of years now. I set one up in August and, about a month and a half later, little mushrooms started springing up. At first, they appeared seldomly, so I ignored them. More recently, they've become significant in number. I started digging up chunks of soil around the bases and thought I was making headway. I started a new job this past week and slacked off on maintenance. Since then, a great number have come up, and they're inching closer to my plants.

I talked with somebody at the local nursery and he was clueless. The fungicides I've seen are merely topical agents. I really don't want to dig the whole thing up and replace the soil. Is there any type of fungicide I can dilute and water with? Perhaps a household remedy?

Any help would be greatly appreciated......

Comments (6)

• iliketerrariums
    17 years ago

I wish they would grow in one of my set ups! I think they look really good! but to answer your question, no, I dont know of anything that will kill off mushrooms/fungus, Im sure that if you do find something it will prob kill any little critters you might have too =( I know theres a little in that lives in soil, it eats up dead and decaying matter, I think their called springflies? not to sure though?

• iliketerrariums
    17 years ago

The correct name is Springtails, here a link =)
    http://www.uky.edu/Ag/Entomology/entfacts/trees/ef420.htm

• paul_
    17 years ago

"Since then, a great number have come up, and they're inching closer to my plants."

Well your plants obviously don't mind them. The mushrooms are merely the fruiting/reproductive bodies. The fungus has already infiltrated all of the soil including that amongst the plants' roots. If your plants were going to be harmed, it would have already happened.

• amphitecna
    17 years ago