Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
janfitc

Mixing Critters

janfitc
17 years ago

I am putting together my first terrarium and I'm really excited, but I'm trying to curb my enthusiasm with some well grounded reality. I am apprehensive to go all out with what I want my final terrarium to look like because this is my first try and I don't want to kill any little critters in the learning process. SO...I'm hoping someone can help me.

I live in San Francisco, so the weather is cold and unstable (if anyonehere is in the Bay Area and has some general suggestions they would be appreciated). I would really like some cool critters in my terrarium, but I'm not sure what how many is suitable for the size (18"x18"x24"). Also, I'm not sure what types of critters can co-exist in a terrarium. I was thinking about some sort of frogs, maybe some geckos, I would love a chameleon, and I don't know if I could put in any sort of beetle or centi-/milipede.

Can anybody tell me what combinations work well? Which combinations are absolute no-no's? Maybe even what type of plants would be best for this type of set up and anything else I may be missing or wouldn't have thought of?

Right now, my terrarium has two orchids (one hanging, one planted), a bunch of air plants, some moss, a venus fly trap, a small bonsai, and some bamboo (grass and stalk). Are any of these things not good to have with critters? ALso, I am creating a small pool in the corner - how deep is too deep for critters? How deep should the pool be for small fish (goldfish or neons)?

Thanks so much for all the help. Any other suggestions greatly appreciated (heating, do I need a misting system, etc.).

Comments (18)

• iliketerrariums
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago