Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ckinney58

new to terrariums having problems with my plants

ckinney58
19 years ago

As the title says I am fairly new to terrariums and just build mine this fall and finally got my plants in at the end of October. I put a false bottom in, with some LECA over that then a half inch layer of Sphagmic moss which I then covered with living moss. It started out nice and green but is now turning brown everywhere except for the extremely shady parts. Am I killing them with light, they have plenty of water, in fact the moss is usually soaked. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what is wrong and how I can get it green again.

Also I found a mushroom growing in my tank. I have no idea where it came from. Can Sphagmic moss carry mushroom spores that can start to grow. Also there is little white hair type stuff around it. Are these bad for terrariums and poison dart frogs. I don't have any frogs yet but I want to get some.

Please help. Thank you for listening.

Comments (6)

• sahoyaref
    19 years ago