Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
freshvegetables

New to Knoxville

freshvegetables
9 years ago

I'm new to Knoxville TN and new to gardening in general. I grew my first vegetable garden last year and the only things that did good was the zucchini , basil and sweet potatoes. I think this is at least partially due to the clay soil. I did amend with about 200$ worth of black cow in my 30 square feet garden but it hardly did any good. I'm hoping after I amend again this year I will have better luck. (It's red clay btw) This year I'm really wanting to try to grow some beets, eggplant, onions, zucchini and some kind of berry besides strawberry. Does anyone know if there are any plant nurseries that sell eggplant (black beauties) or beet (red) starter plants in the area? I hope this year is a success for my garden but I sure could use some advice from more experienced gardeners.

Comments (4)

• TreeRoots
    9 years ago

Welcome to the area :) Stanley's Greenhouse on Davenport in South Knox is a great little nursery that has a ton of veggie seeds right now. I'm not sure if they will have the actual starter plants for the two you specified, but you could definitely call them and ask. I mention them, particularly because they have different varieties of Blueberry that you might be interested in growing.Two in particular that might be good for you are Pink Lemonade that stays around 4' and... a dwarf that I can't remember the name to that maxes out at 2'. They're both doing very well for me in containers on the porch.

Gardening in-ground is something I gave up on. I just found it too difficult to manage. Raised beds can be expensive to start up, but are much easier to manage. I'm making one out of cinder blocks, this year. You could also try Winter Sowing, as a much easier (in my opinion) way of germinating your seeds. I plan on growing eggplant, this year, and if I'm successful I'd be more than happy to give you some baby plants.