Return to the Tennessee Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
You think my Needle palm is doing alright?

Posted by plateau_boy 7a (My Page) on
Sat, Feb 9, 13 at 13:00

I've been growing it here on the plateau in Tn for 2 or 3 years so far. I covered it heavily with mulch and maybe bubble wrap the first winter (lowest temp was 8 degrees), but it seemed like it almost died that year, all its leaves turned white. I don't think it lost any leaves last winter, I covered it with a little less mulch. This winter, it has been doing great with only a little mulch I put on in January as protection, as I've only seen the temp drop to the teens a couple times. All its leaves are still green except a few really old leaves that got a little brown. But, one thing that bothers me is I can't tell if its central frond is still alive. It popped up in the fall and hasn't grown since. I hope that means the tree is still alright. I have some photos I took today if I can figure out how to post them, I tried to show the frond but it is hard to see. If anyone has experience with these palms, let me know please.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: You think my Needle palm is doing alright?

My own experience is I don't baby mine at all. I have had mine for maybe 5 years now and it is doing great. I don't cover or mulch it at all. There shouldn't have been weather cold enough to bother it the last few years. Maybe if i see temps dropping close to zero or less I would worry. I'm near Nashville so I am maybe 3 or 4 degrees warmer than the plateau. My Sabal Birmingham has done well also.

o

My own experience is I don't baby mine at all. I have had mine for maybe 5 years now and it is doing great. I don't cover or mulch it at all. There shouldn't have been weather cold enough to bother it the last few years. Maybe if i see temps dropping close to zero or less I would worry. I'm near Nashville so I am maybe 3 or 4 degrees warmer than the plateau. My Sabal Birmingham has done well also.

o