Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tcsouthpaw

planting fruit trees early March

tcsouthpaw
12 years ago

I am very new to gardening, and would love to add a fruit tree or two to my back yard. I'm considering nectarine or peach, maybe a pear or apple tree. What would you suggest for a first timer?

I'm located in Nashville proper, I have a lot of space to work with, the yard is on a hilly with mainly southern exposure. Currently I have one black walnut and one osage orange (Maclura pomifera) tree, but nothing else.

Also, my black walnut definitely produces, but the squirrels win the battle for the nuts. Any suggestions for harvesting?

Comments (3)

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Trees in the Prunus genus (cherries, plums, peaches, nectarines, etc) can produce some awesome tasting fruit, but keep in mind that they are relatively short-lived trees that are very prone to disease and insect damage. If you choose to grow fruit from this genus, just be aware that the trees are more temporary than most other types of fruit trees. You can decrease the severity of the problems (at least temporarily) with diligent spraying regimes. Many home growers end up not keeping up with the required maintenance and wondering why their trees become sick and die at such an early age.

Pears are pretty tough. Fireblight is probably the major problem that you'll have to deal with. You may want to consider cultivars that are resistant to, or tolerant of, fireblight.