Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fossilflower

year round shrubs or bushes

fossilflower
16 years ago

I am looking for year around bushes or shrub varieties that retain foilage in the winter for the front flower beds. I am new to TN, and excited about gardening in such a beautiful region. The house we bought already had 3 dwarf shrubs that I hope to have identified as being the burning bush, but I cannot be sure. They are green with wispy foilage as well as a splash of red color. They never lost their leaves this winter, and only stand aprox 3.5 ft. I see these bushes all over and would like to put alot more these out front in that flower bed. Any suggestions?

Comments (12)

• positivemom
    16 years ago

When you say "foliage" ... do you mean that you want something that's not an evergreen?

A plant that I see used often by landscapers is the "Otto Luyken" laurel. It has glossy green leaves all winter. In the spring (and fall, I think) has spiky white flowers. I think the flowers stink, personally.

• fossilflower
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Hi,

I wasn't sure either way, but I am checking into the Otto Luyken laurel you suggested. Thanks so much~
    Deena

• positivemom
    16 years ago

You should be able to get it your local nursery, Lowe's, HD, etc. I do think that the plant itself is really lovely, and a great landscaping choice. I just personally wouldn't plant it as a screen right next to my patio due to it's aroma.

What part of the state are you in?

• fossilflower
    Original Author
    16 years ago