Return to the Tennessee Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
When should peppers and toms go out

Posted by propofol Memphis (My Page) on
Thu, Mar 20, 08 at 21:29

Hey yall,

I'm new to memphis and have started some pepper and tomato seeds. What's the earliest I can put these out?

thanks

Propofol

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: When should peppers and toms go out

I live in Collierville and have set mine out as early as April 1st. If you remember last year though, we had a hard frost first week of April. April 15th is the safest time. It is what is suggested for our zone 7b.

o

thanks a bunch!

o

April 15th is a happy day for accountants and gardeners both! (I'm both, so the date is easy for me to remember.) Last year was an anomaly in Mid TN ... I think our hard freeze was the week after the 15th. My toms were in a big container, so I wrestled it inside. The strangest thing about the weather that weekend was that Knoxville didn't end up with the hard freeze - their flowering trees and shrubs weren't hammered like ours were here in Mid TN. I suppose it's the way the jet stream flows.

Amy

o

Hey, ya'll. Nice to see folks are still active on the forums. :-)

Actually, our hard freeze last year was the week of April 7th, one week before our normal frost date. I was in KY celebrating my wedding anniversary with my husband and there was snow on the ground up around Berea.

The big problem last year was we had such a hot spell in March so everything broke dormancy too early. This year we've had more normal temps. so I'm optimistic it will be a better year. But it's definitely safest to wait for the April 15th frost date.

Hope to be able to participate a bit more often in the forums again...

--April

o

Hopw you two come to the Memphis swap!

o

im so bummed out, i have a required conference for school i have to attend the swap weekend (april 13-14) otherwise i would be there with bells on

o