Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
katiegrey_gw

Termites in my garden??

katiegrey
17 years ago

I was in my garden today (raised bed lined with cinder blocks) and I was digging in the holes of the cinder blocks (where I have put some topsoil so I can plant marigolds) to plant some seeds and I dug up what appeared to be termites, little clearish/yellowish larvae type things and others with wings. I went online to ID them and make sure they weren't just ant larvae. The pictures online look exactly what is living in my garden.

So now I am a bit freaked out, where did they come from and how do I remove them? Is this common? I am fairly new to gardening and am not a TN native. My husband and I recently purchased some topsoil and mulch from a local nursery and I dug through the top soil today and there are termites in there too. There is a lot of dead wood in the top soil we bought, so I'm assuming that's what they are eating.

Has anyone had this problem before? I'm really stressing out about it. Our house has a termite contract and they come out and check it once a year to make sure everything is ok and last year sprayed the base of the house with some sort of chemical to deter termites.

Comments (18)

• bigorangevol
    17 years ago

Katie every yard has termites in it. Don't sweat it. They just had their swarm a couple of weeks ago.

Like Joe said, just make sure that your home and outbuildings are protected and you'll be fine.

BTW, make sure that you come to the Middle Tennessee Plant Swap on May 19th.

• cannahavana
    17 years ago

Yep we have termites in the garden. They are currently eating our mailbox post.

Rebecca

• behaviorkelton
    17 years ago

So do those termite bait things work? ($60: the green plastic deals that you stick in the ground?)

I guess I'm asking if there are good home-owner solutions to protecting the home from these ever-present termites.

I agree they are a part of the garden, but what's the good way of keeping 'em off the house?!