Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jdetrucker

Looking for a nursery in Knoxville, TN

jdetrucker
17 years ago

I am new to Tennessee, but someone was bragging about a nursery they said had been around "forever" in Knoxville. I don't have the spelling of this, but she said it was Baberies on Old Miller Pike. I can't find an Old Miller Pike or anything near that spelling listed. She described it as a large old nursery with great prices.

Anybody have any clue where this would be or have a phone number for it?

Comments (9)

• myrtleoak
    17 years ago

Its probably Millertown not Miller, though I am not familiar with that side of town. Probably the two most well known that I know of would be Pope's and Stanley's, though I like Ellenburg's in west Knoxville.

• sewlutions
    17 years ago

Probably was Millertown Pike. Think there used to be a nurdery by name of Bableys. I like Stanley's on Davenport Rd, off Chapman Hwy.

• anntn6b
    17 years ago

We drive Millertown often and I haven't seen anything that looks like a nursery.
    I do like Stanley's a lot more than Pope's (Pope's was better, IMO, when they were real growers and not just resellers of plants grown in California.)

• xzxzimxzx
    17 years ago

The nursery is called "Babelays" and it is almost on the corner of Washington Pike and Babelay Road - not far from Knoxville Center Mall. I just moved to Babelay Road - and actually thought it was not operating anymore as a large part of it is not in use, but yes, they do still sell plants out of one or two of the greenhouses. If you know where Target is on Washington Pike, keep driving down past Target and the new Recreational Park they are building, through the traffic lights and just past the Town and Country (Shell) gas station is a road to your right, Babelay Road, turn down there and it is a few hundred yards on your left.

• codered
    17 years ago