Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
susancc_gw

japanese beetles- Help- help

Susancc
18 years ago

I moved to Tennessee last summer and this is my first year gardening. I am drowning in JB, they are eating everything. I picked over 70 off my garden yesterday. I got mad and sprayed malthion yesterday evening. What can I do?? I love my bees and ladybugs. Help!! How long do these horrible things hang around!!

Comments (19)

• farmerbell
    18 years ago

Plan on about 6-7 weeks for Japanese beetles to be in your garden. They invade mine by the hundreds. It is not unusual to find a hibiscus blossom with about 50 on that one blossom. Yuck!! I have gotten to the point that I cut off blossoms of hibiscus, cannas, and roses then spray the foilage with BUG STOP. I think this is made by Spectracide. It is supposed to be effective for up to 4 weeks. I hate to use any chemicals, but by cutting off blossoms before spraying, I try to minimize the damage to other beneficial insects. I guess I hope they will go to someone else's yard to eat if they can't find food here. I also grow banana plants, which they love and I have to regularly spray these as well. For other plants I pour about 1" of gasoline in a can and hand pick the buggers and drop them in the gasoline. Kerosens also works as well as many other things. Good luck!!

• madmouser
    18 years ago

Try putting out some birdbaths. I've got a metal birdbath and a clay saucer I keep filled with water and the saucer seems to be the most popular. The birds sit on the edge of the metal birdbath and wait for a turn in the clay saucer!
    Get a couple of the big clay saucers -- the ones that go under pots to catch runoff. At least 12 inches across or bigger. Keep them clean and filled with water. I scrub mine out and replace the water every day to keep mosquitos out.