Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mwiegers_gw

Pretty Hedge

mwiegers
16 years ago

Hi All,

I just joined this gardenweb forum so am new to this. I'm also new to gardening so I need some advice. We are wanting to plant a hedge along a chain link fence for more privacy. THere is a large Water Oak that is right in that fence. Plus a large pine and black walnut close by (within 20 feet). So there is mixed amount of shade and sun. One end of the hedge has sun, the other end only gets bits of sun through the trees. So I guess its partial to full shade. Any suggestions on nice medium to fast growing hedge that is pretty, possibly flowering?

Cleyera has been suggested to me by the Barn Nursery (here in Chattanooga), and it seems like a good idea, but want to be sure. I would like it 6-8 feet tall, evergreen, but not look like a wall like privet or other such formal hedges. Any help would be great! Thanks,

Michelle

Comments (6)

• mwiegers
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I was also advised that Camellia might be nice. Are they hardy and easy to grow? I'm nervous that I'll get something that won't grow well or easily. The flowers on the Camellia are so beautiful, that would be nice. Any advice?
    Michelle

• Amazindirt (7a TN)
    16 years ago

I love camellias, myself. They ought to do pretty well in Chattanooga, if you can give them some shade (which it sounds like you can). I keep several camellias in pots here in Knoxville, and for the most part they are doing fine. Don't let them dry out too badly, and don't let them get sunburned, and that's pretty much all they ask for.

• myrtleoak
    16 years ago