Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
andi956

mums or asters?

andi956
16 years ago

Hi All,

I'm new to gardening. I still don't have a handle on when to fertilize, etc although I did get my soil tested. :-)

Anyway, luckily this summer I planted mostly annuals (lots of calitunia) that I scored for 9 cents (!) each in the nearly dead pile at lowe's.

I wanted to pot some things for fall that I could plant in the spring for later. My soil has *tons* of gravel in it--apparently used to be a parking lot so I'm not sure if I want to dig down (I tried--v hard) or build up some lasagna beds.

Am trying to decide between mums and asters in a pinky or other "cool" color. Not sure what does best here. I got cheap mums at Lowe's ($1.98) but am tempted to go to Bates for something prettier.

Any problem with potting these now and planting them in the spring when I have more time (say in March when I've got a break from teaching?).

What luck have you had with either?

thanks!

Comments (4)

• andi956
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Does either tend to be heartier here? I've been googling for the Marie III aster I bought but can't seem to find much info. The mums are hardy.

Thanks!

• Amazindirt (7a TN)
    16 years ago

Hey there --

If you want them to be perennial, generally asters are a better bet. Some mums will perennialize, but they are often not as hardy.

There are tons of nice asters to choose from. I have clumps of aromatic aster that I especially love -- they bloom for a loooooooong time in fall, just about to start now. I also have New England aster, which I have a love-hate relationship with (it'll take over given a chance, and the variety I have gets quite lanky if you forget to pinch it enough), and just this year I planted a couple of bristly asters (a new one for me, pretty blueish flowers but we'll see what I think about it next year). There are many nice aster species and varieties, but you'll have to look harder for some of them than for mums.