Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amazindirttn

plumerias!

Amazindirt (7a TN)
16 years ago

Okay, guys --

There seems to be a plumeria fad going on around here. I know of at least three forum members growing em right now.

I'm a big fan of fragrance and variegation, so I'm thinking about getting one or two. But before I take the plunge, I want to hear from y'all.

How hard are they? What does it take? Should I wait til spring to get one? Speak up, this inquiring mind wants to know!

Comments (7)

• ladybug37091
    16 years ago

I am new to the plummie game. Rebecca posted that they overwinter in a dark corner of the house with no water all winter. That sounds great to me, one less corner to dust. Ther fragrance is enough to make me want to try them. Are you going to order a variegated version? I have never seen one. Rhonda

• hornetwife
    16 years ago

I brought my Plumies up from Texas a few years ago and so far they are doing great. I overwinter them indoors in a fairly sunny room and I water them a few times for good measure. (I guess not everyone overwinters the same). The best one I had this year was one that I plunged in a front flower bed. All the rest are just in pots above ground. They did okay, just not as big and healthy as the one I plunged. (Ironically, though, it was my only one with no inflos).
    I will be bringing them all indoors soon....sigh.
    I say get one if you have a chance! They are pretty easy.
    Lori

• Amazindirt (7a TN)
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Do they grow more like an adenium -- light, not much water -- or more like a brug?

And yes, Rhonda, if I do end up getting any I'll get variegated. No reason to waste the space if it ain't variegated. ;-)

• TnShadyLady
    16 years ago

Ione,