Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vollaw

container gardening

vollaw
16 years ago

I'm new to growing bulbs; forgive me if this is a totally stupid question. I want to plant some fall bulbs in some big clay pots for my front entry. Can these pots be left outside during the winter, or do I need to store them somewhere during the coldest weather. Thanks for any input.

Comments (10)

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    16 years ago

It depends on a few things. Different bulbs/plants have different zone hardiness ranges. Many fall bulbs will be fine, but check the zone rating for the type you are wanting to plant. When grown above ground in a pot, the bulb's hardiness zone rating needs to be about one zone colder than the zone you're in. Since the weather patterns have shifted in this part of the country, you are likely at least one zone hotter than the official map shows. These two considerations may cancel each other out.

Well draining soil is important. Be sure to use a well draining potting mix in your container. A normal good potting soil mix should be OK for this.

The size and type of container can make a difference. Larger containers will experience less temperature change (which is desirable). Clay containers will be a little better than plastic because the clay can hold a little heat.

Finally, the location can make a difference. The amount of sunlight, the timing of sunlight (morning, afternoon, or all day), and microclimates can all play some part in this.

• Amazindirt (7a TN)
    16 years ago

Another problem can arise because of clay splitting during freeze/thaw cycles.

I plant bulbs in containers every winter. I also have lots of clay pots that stay out during the winter. But I plant most of my bulbs in plastic, and I am not surprised when I lose a couple of the clay pots over the winter.