Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenerlee

New Gardener Looking for Help :D

GardenerLee
9 years ago

Hey guys, I'm just an average teenager looking to get into a bit of gardening. I've just taken out some grass and roots to make a small in-ground garden. I'm pretty new to gardening and would gardening appreciate some help. ( Please keep in mind that I'm just a teenager and don't have a lot of funds to invest with )

1. The soil in my area is pretty clay-based, and from what I've looked up, this kind of soil is hard to work with. Are there any cheap way to fix this?

2. This is going to be a vegetable garden, but all the veggies I want to grow are supposed to be planted in the warmer seasons. Do you guys know of any edible plants that I can plant right now? ( it's pretty chilly in my area and the ground sometimes freezes at night ) I also like cooking, so growing herbs like Rosemary would be cool too.

Sorry for the really long post, but any help would be appreciated!!!

Comments (13)

• zzackey
    9 years ago

IMO, The best thing you can do is go to your local Agricultural center or call them on the phone. They should have a horticulturist on staff and free advice and pamphlets. I think Rosemary will grow in you area. Please google Rosemary zone hardiness. Also you could check EDIS online. It is university based data. You can beef up your with kitchen scraps. No meats. Just veggies that are spoiling. Oak leaves work well too. It takes a few months for them to break down. The library is a good free place for gardening info.

• TreeRoots
    9 years ago