Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daisyntn

Help with Knock Out Roses

daisyntn
18 years ago

I am new to the Maryville area and a newby to gardening. I need help on how to care for knock out roses. I would appreciate some guidance. Thank you so much.....

Daisy

Comments (40)

• reneecd
    18 years ago

Is there something specific troubling you about the knockout roses? As long as you plant them in well draining soil, they pretty much take care of themselves. I fertilize once in spring and once in late summer and I rarely supplement the rain water unless we get a drought in the heat of summer. It is not necessary to deadhead, unless you just want to tidy them up for a garden party :) I prune mine just to maintain a rounded shape and keep them in bounds.

Let us know if you have specific questions.
    Renee

• anntn6b
    18 years ago

Or don't prune them and let them grow taller (and covered with even more blooms.)
    They don't need to be protected in winter in our part of TN, nor do they need much help. If they are new, they might like some supplementary water through this drought as they won't go dormant until January, if then.

• landrover
    18 years ago

I love my Knock Out Roses! They seem to need so little care. Mine don't like water sprayed all over them, but they do like water by their roots. I had some mites or thrips this summer, so sprayed a little diluted malathion on them and they disappeared. I deadhead mine, but only the end bracket. Mine are blooming right now and are about five and a half feet tall on sturdy canes. The one mistake I made was to plant them in the middle of my bed. They should be in the back as they grow taller than anything else around there. I will transplant them later this month. I know they will come back because these babies are ROBUST! I love Knock Out roses!--caroleann

• wild_rose
    18 years ago