Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thyme4tea

garden clubs &/or community garden in Bristol/JC area?

Thyme4Tea
11 years ago

Does anyone know of any garden clubs in the Bristol/Johnson City area? I'm new to the area, and would like to meet other gardening friends. Also, are there any public/community garden spaces in this area? I grew up a Midwest country girl that loves to garden & wants to get into canning, but living in a small mobile home park doesn't allow for that.

Any help/information would be much appreciated!

Comments (5)

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    11 years ago

I have no first-hand knowledge of most of these groups, but here's what I find online:

Garden Thyme Herb Society - no official contact info online.
    If you're interested, contact GardenWeb member evasage for more email. You should be able to email her through her GardenWeb member page. Eva's super nice and might also be able to tell you about other local groups.

Ken-Ten Iris Association (Dresden, TN / Earnie Royal, president / 270-489-2819) - local American Iris Society group
    I can hardly believe that the Tri-Cities doesn't have an AIS club in that area, but it appears that this one is the closest. If you are into iris, you might consider starting a club in the Tri-Cities area. I bet there'd be plenty of interest.

Mid-Appalachian Bonsai Kai (Kingsport / Anita Bausman at 423-239-7602) - local American Bonsai Society group

Tri-Cities Daylily Society (Kingsport, TN / Dennis Hall, president at 423-288-7040) - local American Hemerocallis Society group

Shady Oaks Garden Club (Johnson City, TN / Cindy Hintz at 423-282-9106)

I didn't see any local groups associated with these groups, but you might consider starting one:

African Violet Society of America
    American Daffodil Society
    American Hosta Society
    American Rose Society
    Cactus and Succulent Society of America
    wildflower groups

There are also other groups that are somewhat associated with plants and gardening, like: