Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joachim_ct

Nightshades, Copper as fungicide and Copper poisoning

joachim_ct
17 years ago

As a nutritional chemist I strongly believe that we should mainly eat foods that were part of our ancestor's diet. Tomatoes, potatoes and peppers, all part of the nightshade group of vegetables, only grew in America and were introduced to Europe and other parts of the world relatively recently.

E.g. while the potato was brought to Europe by the Spanish conquistadors, the monarchs of Europe discovered the nutritional value of the potato only during the early 18th century, and ordered it planted from then on. Some people might not have been "conditioned" to digest these foods. Interestingly, nightshades are amongst the least tolerated vegetables and we known that they can cause a number of autoimmune diseases or hypersensitivity such as arthritis symptoms, IBS etc. for quite a number of people.