Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Transplant Challenge

Posted by dcsprout zone 7 (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 22, 07 at 12:01

This is my first year gardening and I've become completely obsessed. I read this forum at least once a day and so appreciate the great information I've found here. It's also comforting to hear from others who are as excited about tomatoes as I am. My friends and neighbors who have watched me add more pots week after week just think I'm nuts... but I'm sure they'll change their tune when they're enjoying the harvest.

So far, things have been going pretty smoothly. Since I have limited space and share a back yard with others in my building, I decided to make a container garden. I bought a Lemon Boy and Better Boy seedling to start in mid-May. Then after spending some time on this site, decided to try a few heirlooms, so added Cherokee Purple, Green Zebra, and Gold Medal a couple weeks later (Memorial Day), also from seedlings. In addition, I have a cucumber plant, bush beans, jalepenos, and an assortment of herbs. And because I'm out of room at home, I am growing a yellow pear cherry tomato on my balcony at work.

The Lemon Boy and Better Boy have both set little fruits, with the largest on each being about golf ball size. The heirlooms are all in bloom, so I think they aren't too far behind. The only problem I'm starting to have is curling leaves, yellow leaves, and some brown spots. I think the curling is due to aphids so I picked up some horticultural oil at the garden supply store and gave them a good spray. But I'm not sure what's up with the brown spots. The weather here has been pretty extreme over the last week (hot (90s) and thunderstorms) so I guess that could have something to do with it.