Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pmcaddis

Tom start advice and Is a portable greenhouse worth it?

pmcaddis
9 years ago

Looking to poll the experts on starting tomatoes. I've been growing tomatoes on a larger scale for about 4 years now (as opposed to having 2-3 plants of whatever the local store had and crossing my fingers) and each year I take it a step further. Last year I successfully did seed starts for the first time. Previously I had failed and ended up justing buying robust starts from the local greenhouse. I have some varieties I want to start growing that I can't find started so it is up to me now.

Last year I rigged up a couple of old fluorescent kitchen lights so I could plug them in and they worked great for the seedlings. I ran into trouble when I had to start potting them though as I didn't have enough light to sustain them and ran out of room under the lights with the bigger pots. By the time I was able to transplant them they were scraggly and kind of sorry looking. After a late frost killed off my first transplants I still had enough to successfully transplant, but it seemed like it took awhile for them to get going and look healthy.