Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tsheets_gw

Suggestions for Medium Sized (8-12oz) Tomatoes

tsheets
12 years ago

Hi all,

I'm still relatively new to tomatoes outside what you find at the local big box stores, so, trying all kinds of new varieties.

A couple years ago, I ended up with quite a few very large varieties and find it difficult to use the larger 1-2lb varieties, not to mention the generally lower number of the ones I've tried.

So, last year I avoided the big ones, but, ended up with mostly smaller varieties. While I like some of those, I was missing the mid sized slicers/sandwich tomatoes.

Some mid sized ones I have tried are Cherokee Purple, Indian Stripe, and Bush Champion. I plan to plant Indian Stripe again this year.

Looking for suggestions for relatively productive mid-sized slicers - preferably indeterminate (heirloom or hybrid, either is fine).

Comments (14)

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

There are hundreds of them. If you go to tomatogrowers.com and type 12 ounce in the search bar you'd likely get 4 or 5 pages of listings to choose from. :)

I can recommend Supersonic, Rutgers, Champion (not Bush), Mule Team, Black Krim, Jet Star, and Carbon off the top of my head that fall into that category.

Dave

• tsheets
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks, Dave! That's the problem - there's soooo many to choose from, and of course based on the seller's descriptions, they're all absolutely wonderful! ;-)

That's why I was looking for some suggestions. Tomatogrowers is where I will likely purchase from, unless there's something really compelling somewhere else.

• fusion_power
    12 years ago

Your climate should be the primary factor in recommending tomatoes of the size you want.

Big Beef
    Box Car Willie
    Eva Purple Ball
    Homestead
    Rutgers
    Momotaro
    Sioux or Super Sioux
    Druzba
    Muleteam
    Nepal
    Gregori's Altai
    Lynnwood