Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenlott

Need pots and trays

greenlott
11 years ago

I have been raising my toms from seed for many years. I always grow out more than I use and give the rest away to friends. Over the years my friends who want them have multiplied and now I will need to come up with 125 seedlings. I need 15 trays and 125 3 1/2 inch pots. If anyone knows of a good cheap sourse for the pots and trays please post info. My crop this year will include:
1. Dona
2. Big Beef
3. Goliath
4. Estler's Mortgage Lifter (sent to me by Mary of this forum)
5. Gary O'Sena
6. Mariana's Peace
7. Black Krim
8. Cherokee Purple
9. Indian Stripe
10.Kellog's Breakfast
11.Brandy Boy
12.Pruden's Purple
13.Sun Gold
14.Black Cherry
15.New Red Cherry (Sent to me by Steve from this forum)
I hope to get 15 plants of each variety, plant the best in my backyard plot and give the rest to friends.

Comments (13)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

IME eBay has some of the best bulk pricing on the supplies you are looking for. Just be sure to check the shipping costs as they will sometimes jack up the shipping to make up the low price on the supplies. But there are still some good bargains to be found.

Novosel Enterprises is another good source - price wise - and they carry everything. Then there is Farm Tek Grower's Supply, ASC Argi Supply, just to name a few. Even most of the common seed companies will carry basic seed starting supplies. Google 'seed starting supplies' for lots of links and prices.

You can also use the common plastic drink cups in various sizes. Many do. You'll find discussions about other seed starting suppliers over on the Growing from Seed forum here.

Dave

• missingtheobvious
    11 years ago

Fedco has better prices for trays (for smallish numbers) than some of the other seed vendors, IIRC. And you can buy bottom trays and mesh trays individually. They're in the non-seed part of the Fedco catalog, which you can purchase from year-round.