Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ferroplasm

Grafting tomatoes

Can determinate varieties be grafted to indeterminate rootstock? Will the determinate scion behave as determinate or indeterminate?

Comments (10)

• PupillaCharites
    9 years ago

Sure. Whatever scion you graft will act like the scion with its own rootstock. All rootstocks are indeterminate. Determinate is a mutation that was found and distributed to breeders in the 20th century. There are many mutations in tomato plants that have been bred and most if not all can be grafted as scions.

I am not an expert in getting better yield with grafting like some others seem to be, but my opinion is that it would be counterproductive in most cases to graft a determinate since grafts, I believe, the roots and junction won't have time to reach full potential fully develop and the yield is greatest as the plant continues fruiting.

If you begin fruiting while the stem is still increasing in girth and then all in one pop and it's over, you won't benefit on the back end of production when the grafted plant is largest.

Just my theory, though and I easily could be wrong so it would be best to experiment and post back to prove that wrong! I also don't believe grafting using regular rootstock such as a Big Beef rootstock, will be helpful. I think only high performance hybrid rootstock will get the benefit ... because I've never seen any study that showed much benefit for grafting one typical garden tomato on top of another.

PC

• digdirt2
    9 years ago

Agree that you can and it will "behave" as a determinate. But given the nature of determinates I sure can't see what you would gain from doing it.

I think the primary purpose of grafting - increased tolerance against soil borne diseases - has been lost in all the hype about other benefits; ones that just don't hold up. If it was all true then only a miracle could explain how anyone has ever been able to grow any non-grafted tomatoes. :)

Dave

• ferroplasm Zone 7b