Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
schroedpot

Homemade tomato transplanting soil mix?

schroedpot
10 years ago

I did spend about an hour searching the forums for this without much luck...

I've been gardening for nigh onto 40 years, but now that I'm retired I decided to spend time really learning. I've always started my tomato seedlings in a sterile mix and then transplanted them to larger containers using commercial potting mix with pretty good results.

My question is: do any of you make your own potting mix for tomatoes? Have you had especially good or bad results?

Comments (11)

• missingtheobvious
    10 years ago

I planted a couple of dozen dwarf and small tomato varieties in containers in 2012, and used (more or less) Al's 5-1-1 mix.

I couldn't find actual pine bark fines, so for the 5 parts bark fines I used a mixture of mostly larger pine bark pieces and Sta-Green potting mix (about 3 1/2 bark and 1 1/2 potting mix).

I measured the ingredients with a scoop made from a 1/2 gallon milk jug with the bottom cut out, so one part was a little less than half a gallon, and one recipe was somewhere between 3 and 3 1/2 gallons.

To each batch I added maybe 1/3 cup of garden lime and a slightly larger amount of fertilizer granules.

I fertilized with standard Miracle Grow a few times.

The plants were happy till the Late Blight hit.

In 2013, I topped up the two front porch pots and planted New Big Dwarfs in them again (kind of like having small topiary evergreens on your front porch, no?). They were happy until the Late Blight....

• seysonn
    10 years ago

Commercial potting mix is good too. But to me it has 2 drawbacks: ONE, it is expensive , TWO it retains too much moisture.
    So I have been studying also 511 mix.(5 parts fine pine bark, 1 part peat moss, 1 part perlite) You can violate that proportion. For example make it 4-2-1- . You may also eliminate perlite (because of cost) That is what I am going to do it.