Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
slimak_gw

Need a little help with downsizing

slimak
10 years ago

I'm new to gardening and I just want grow some seedlings for my parents and family who always buy the same boring tomato plants year after year. I've read many posts, reviews and I came up with this list. Unfortunately :) They can't grow that many plants in one year so please help me narrow it down. We could have 5 plants growing directly in ground, 6 in pots and 5 in hanging baskets. I haven't had the chance to try most of them and what I want to avoid is that bland taste. Please let me know which in your opinion would fit my need

Tumbler Hybrid
Tiny Tim
4th of July
Ildi
Sungold Hybrid
Sweet Million Hybrid FT
Super Sweet 100 Hybrid VF
Lizzano
Currant Sweet Pea
Jelly Bean Red & Yellow
Camp Joy Cherry
Yellow Pear
Umberto
Stupice
Bloddy Butcher
Beliy Naliv
Sophie's Choice
Silvery Fir Tree
Early Wonder
Beaver Lodge Slicer
Manitoba
Bush Beefsteak
506 Bush
Black Krim
Bosque Blue Bumblebee
Big Beef
Super Bush
Amish Red
Ace 55
Casady's Folly
German Johnson
Chocolate Stripes
Cherokee Purple
Indigo Rose
Pineapple
Japanese Black Trifele
Red Zebra
Black Brandywine
Red Brandywine

Comments (5)

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Wow that is quite a list! About all any of us can do is tell you which ones we would pick. And, other than taste you have some other limitations to work with in your info that will eliminate several of them.

6 in pots - how big are the pots? If 7-10 gallons at least then 4th of July, Stupice, Bush Beefsteak, Fir Tree, Early Wonder, and one of the Jelly Beans

5 In ground with some really good tomato cages (not the 3 ring things - Big Beef, Black Krim, Cherokee Purple, Sungold, Sweet Million

Hanging baskets - Tumbler and Tiny Tim are the only ones on the list that will work in those.