Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Hydroponic Cherry Tomatoes Grow

Posted by Xchus 11 (My Page) on
Tue, Feb 12, 13 at 7:43

Hello,

This is my first time posting on these forums, however I have found a lot of useful information on them. Since there are so many knowledgeable people here I would like to hear your opinion on my grow so far. It is my first time growing cherry tomatoes, and it is the first time I make it so far (I had lots of issues with heat because I live close to the equator.) Please let me know what you think!

Parameters
Number of Plants = 20
Avg Plant Height ~ 3.5 - 5 ft
Nutrients Temp = 70F
Canopy Temp ~ 68F - 86F
TDS ~ 1.3 EC
Daily Nutrient Soln Consumption ~ 3 - 4 gals

Picture @ day 1

Picture @ day 43

Fruit from first trusses @ day 43

This post was edited by Xchus on Tue, Feb 12, 13 at 8:31

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Hydroponic Cherry Tomatoes Grow

Forgot to add, plants on the left side of the hydro system are pruned, and on the right are not pruned. I'm trying to see for myself whether is true or not that tomatoes yield more when not pruned.

o

Welcome to the forums. Good looking plants. Looks like the un-pruned ones are doing really well.

You might want to post this over on the Hydroponics forum here for more feedback on your growing methods.

Good luck with your plants.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: Hydroponics forum

o

digdirt, thanks for your reply.

I have my system almost dialed up. I'm more interested in knowing if my plants are doing fine, it is my first time growing cherry tomatoes, that is why posted it here. Thanks again!

o

Well from the pics they look great. Good color, good fruit production. Good size plants.

Dave

o

Thanks again for your quick reply Dave. This past week growth has been ridiculous, should I let them grow wild like that? or do I have to do something for the plant to focus more on fruit production? Please advise.

o

Picture @ day 48