Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
skatcon

Glecklers

skatcon
13 years ago

Okay folks, while I am at the Glecklers sight coveting Red Barn, are there any other varieties here that come highly recommended?

Comments (10)

• yumtomatoes
    13 years ago

They carry Lucky Cross, Cherokee Purple and Brandywine Sudduth's strain, which are 3 I will be trying next year based on what I have read about them.

• carolyn137
    13 years ago

I've been saying for many years that of the seeds I was able to germinate for Joe Bratka which he couldn't germinate himself, they were bred by his father, and those are Box Car Willie, Mule Team, Great Divide and Pasture, that I think Red Barn has been very overlooked as perhaps the best one of the lot.

Adam isn't the only source of seed for Red Barn, you can see I think one other place is you go to Tania's excellent Tomato base and check that out, but Sandhill Preservation is one source and it isn't available for 2011.

As for other varieties to recommend, I could make a long list. ( smile)

When Adam decided to reopen his grandfather's Gleckler Seedmen which was started in the 1940's and then went to Adam's father, and then to Adam, when I found out about it I contacted Adam and asked if some of us could help. It was decided that it would be best to concentrate on varieties that were rare and hard to get, and so I set up a donation thread at another site and many many folks donated starter seeds to Adam, and that happened for several years in a row. Now he's being sent varieties from others who have seen his site and want to add their varieties if the trials go well. And of course some of the original donors continue to send newer varieties if they think they're worthy.