Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
danabelle21

13 year old tomato seed germination

danabelle21
17 years ago

Hi, I'm new here & need some advice on germinating some 13 year old tomato seeds. They belonged to a dear friend of mine who just passed away recently. His family started developing this variety of tomato in 1908. I was given the seeds by His granddaughter along with an old newspaper article about how their family developed them. The seeds that I have are from 1994. Is there anything that I can do to help with germination? Any info would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Dana

Comments (38)

• carolyn137
    17 years ago

Dana, I'd be glad to help for I've had a lot of experience germinating old seeds, my personal best being 22 yo seed, but the BIG questions are, how many seeds do you have to work with and do you know if it's an oxheart variety, or not?

Carolyn

• maryinpnw
    17 years ago

I'm sorry about the loss of your friend. What a wonderful thing that his granddaughter is sharing a part of the family legacy with you.

Under Carolyn's capable tutelage, many have experimented with starting old seeds.

I've got some I'm hoping to sprout this year. After several days of soaking in water, I just put them in seed starting medium today.

Not sure why Carolyn is asking about whether the tomato is an oxheart, so I'll come back to learn what I can learn. I can never learn enough about tomatoes. (Happy grin here.) My tomato fixation is starting up for the year. Hi Carolyn. I haven't been on any garden forums for a while. Too much stuff going on. Hope you are doing well.

Dana, I hope once you have successfully grown this tomato, you'll come back and share what you've learned. All the best in your 2007 garden.

Mary

• robertzone6
    17 years ago

I don't claim to be an expect on starting seeds, but things have gone well for about five years.

One website had a list of veggies and how long tseeds would keep. As I recall, tomatoes were listed at 6 years.