Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
drumz1

Drip Irrigation Question (I'm entirely new to this)

drumz1
13 years ago

I've been veggie gardening for years (with very good results), but don't have a back yard well, and rely on city water for irrigaton to the garden.

As of late, the city charges a "sewer charge" in the monthly billing.....you can imagine what my water bill was last year (yikes).

So with that mind, I'm contemplating the "drip irrigation" method for this year's garden. My main crop is tomatoes (about 75% of the garden, you might say that I love homegrown tomatoes), plus green beans, peppers, onions, and a few other plants.

Now comes the embarrassing part: I'm a complete newbie to this, and don't really know much about it. From what I've been told by a few friends, there is much to consider, such as water pressure, gallons per hour, filters in the system, tubing size, I could go on and on here.

I (and my ever-depleting wallet) would be indebted to anyone who can enlighten me on exactly what I need to do to install a system like this.

Comments welcome, and thanks in advance.

Regards,

drumz1

Comments (24)

• taz6122
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Save the fancy drip system for container gardens. Use a simple soaker hose with a timer for the garden. You can get the water company to put in another meter for outdoor watering that won't include a sewage charge in most cities.

• californian
    13 years ago

I was looking for info on drip irrigation myself and came across this tutorial on the subject. It is mostly orientated towards outdoor systems but the same principles would apply to indoor systems I would guess.

Here is a link that might be useful: Drip irrigation tutorial

• thisisme
    13 years ago

taz6122 my city charges $ 2,500.00 to add another meter. I think drip irrigation is a better way to go.