Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
baileybb1983

Tomato seedlings are droopy

baileybb1983
12 years ago

I planted these seedlings last Monday evening (so 10 days ago) in "grow plugs" I bought from gurneys.com (http://gurneys.com/product.asp?splid=SPLID02&pn=68308). This is my first time to ever grow tomatoes from seeds. I had a plastic dome cover over these seedlings up until I noticed them looking floppy and wilting 2 days ago. It is now off. According to the instructions that came with these "grow plugs" the styrofoam holding the seeds is floating in water (the system says the grow plug material allows the correct amount of water to the plant). My light has been 2-3" from the soil since they were planted.

I'm terrified of a "leggy" seedling!! Are these leggy? What am I doing wrong?

Each column is a different variety of heirloom tomato seed. If I need to list the varieties, please let me know. Thank you.

Comments (10)

• baileybb1983
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Here is a better picture

• missingtheobvious
    12 years ago

baileybb, I'm not sure why your photos aren't showing up, but in many cases people don't realize that in order to post a photo it has to be on the web somewhere, not simply on their PCs or in their email.

Here's a link to an explanation of how to post photos from Photobucket (a free photo-hosting site).

Good luck!

http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/hosta/msg0513322013993.html?14

• baileybb1983
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Ok, so sorry! Here is my picture.

• jean001a
    12 years ago

Yes, they're on the leggy side. Lights need to be just above seedling leaves.

It appears that the light is strongest down the center but far less on the sides.
    Please tell us what sort of light set-up you have.

• baileybb1983
    Original Author
    12 years ago