Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
growsy

reliably productive varieties for southeast?

growsy
11 years ago

I am fairly new to gardening in the southeast & haven't had a lot of luck with tomatoes yet. I'd like to grow heirlooms & OPs with great flavor, but I'd also like the plants to be productive, since I have a limited amount of space. Any recommendations? Thanks!

Comments (8)

• wertach zone 7-B SC
    11 years ago

Rutgers and Marion are good choices for OP. The fruit isn't a one slicer for a sandwich but they are tasty and do well in our heat and humidity. Great for canning and freezing.

I grow Brandywine for the flavor, but they do not produce much fruit and they are prone to diseases.

I'm in 7b SC close to Greenville SC. Someone from 8B in GA might chime in and give you better answers.

Since you are fairly new to gardening in the southeast I'm guessing you moved to GA? If so you will find things quite different here!

Best of luck and never give up!

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Link below is to several tomato discussions and variety recommendations from over on the Georgia Gardening forum.

Browse through the replies from farmerdill as he is exceptionally knowledgeable about gardening in your area.

dave

Here is a link that might be useful: Georgia Gardening forum on tomato varieties

• growsy
    Original Author
    11 years ago

wertach - I am wintersowing for the first time this year. I've had a lot of success, but one of my failures was the Rutgers seed. I just put some more out yesterday - hopefully it will sprout. My dh likes Brandywine too, but would like more tomatoes! I will keep at it - I'm a CA native & gardening out here is very different - but I can't imagine not trying. Thanks!

digdirt - thank you. I did try searching, but I think I searched the tomato forum instead of the Georgia forum. I appreciate your pulling that up for me. I will look for farmerdill.

• fusion_power
    11 years ago